A plan for 2015

paris-eiffel-tower-at-nightSo, for those of you that know me, you know that I am an extremely organized person. I love research and plan, especially vacations. This fall, I plan to take my son back to Disney (it will be his fourth trip). Next year, my son wants to see the Grand Canyon so we will be taking a train out west. Then, in May of 2015 I will finally get the trip I’ve been wanting since 2002: PARIS!! I went just after high school graduation in 2002 and I fell in love. My son will be seven and plenty old enough for such a trip. I hope that it will be the first of many trips to foreign countries for my little boy. We plan to enjoy the many Parks, museums and architecture that is all around Paris. Most of all, we plan to slow down and enjoy each other. Paris is fundamentally different from the US. It is a much slower pace, where art, food and time are all savored.

I have been studying apartments for rent. In actuality this is much much cheaper than renting a hotel room. You get more space for the money, plus a full kitchen and a washer/dryer. The kitchen will mean that I will go to the market (like a local) and pick up the necessary items to make breakfast and dinners at the house. I can also pack lighter, since I will have a washer/dryer to clean clothes. I intend to use all the French I know (which right now is not much). I’ve been studying, reading everything in French and working on teaching my son the oh-so-important words such as “Bonjour Maddame, Merci and Au Revoir.” I know it is a long way off, but I am very excited about the idea of wandering up and down Paris streets, filled with history, art and amazing food!! Many of the buildings there date back to the 15th or 16th century, with some being much much older. With so much beauty, what’s not to love? And I can pick up a new bottle of Fragonard while I am there.

I will be leaning on a dear friend who goes to Paris often, in hopes of some great tips on blending in. I don’t like to stand out if I can help it. Before I leave, I will also be purchasing a good camera. I don’t want to forget a single second of this trip!

Leave a Reply

